I Trust You, Father

To show partiality isn’t good, yet for a piece of bread the valiant will transgress. Prov. 28:21

Several places in Psalms there is the use of the phrase, “Lord, teach me your decrees or laws or statutes.”

Lord, teach me!

A person is taught these things through his upbringing, school lessons, Bible classes and all of life. Parents and teachers instruct him, as do any situation he experiences. When one wants to gain a better understanding, he sits in a class or in front of a book to take notes. He listens and becomes alert to things around him. He studies and learns as for an examine. He meditates and takes it all in. He practices entering into the lessons and actually living out what he is learning. He does what he is taught.

So it is with today’s Bible verse. What can I learn from it? How might the Lord teach me more about Himself through this verse? Writing my blog helps me to process and better comprehend its value in my life.

First of all, an esteemed judge typically stands in that place of deciding a person’s fate. He may either speak up or keep silent in order to save or condemn him. However, at times, he may be tempted to use his authority to show favor to one and bias against another, even for as low a bribe as “a piece of bread.”

Judicial decisions may be based on partiality towards a friend or to those who are smart or powerful, to benefactors, or to those who are politically or religiously like-minded to his beliefs. On the other hand, the judge may unfairly rule against the poor, against his enemy or someone who holds a different view from himself. This partiality does not please God…who shows no favoritism (Acts 10).

After accepting a bribe the first time, the judge finds it easier to use his office to accept even a small piece of bread for an unfair judgment. The action no longer pricks his conscience. He is motivated by even a petty offer.

Second, go back to my earlier question: what can I learn from today’s verse? How might I allow it to teach me more about God…and about me?

In a way, we become ‘authorities’ or ‘judges’ when we sell our souls at a price for the things we value most.

In the Bible, Judas betrayed Jesus for only 30 pieces of silver. King Saul promised David the marriage of his daughter if he would go out and fight the Philistines (secretly thinking the Philistines would kill him). Joseph’s brother sold him for 20 shekels of silver to get rid of him.

To bring it home, let’s say that one day, my husband and I are irritating each other. Each of us is frustrated, and we have a choice to let it move us further into anger and division. Our tendency is to defend our own stance and allow pride to build up our side.

I put myself in the place of a judge by saying, “He is irritating me. Therefore, I ‘rule’ that he is guilty and should be punished.”

I become the watchman of wrongs, and when I spot sin, I give myself the right to shake my head at the sinner in disgust, or walk away in cold silence.

When our Lord Jesus had fasted for 40 days, the enemy whispered (Matt. 4), “I know you’re hungry. Just take this stone and turn it into a piece of bread. Bow down to me and I will show you real life!”

Yet, Jesus knew that love and trust in His Father and the sustenance of His Father’s word was more valuable to Him than His need for bread (even though he hadn’t eaten in 40 days).

I am NOT the ruler of another person, whether in marriage or any other relationship or circumstance. Humility says to understand the bigger picture of both sides of an issue. I can try to grasp the wrong of my own heart. What am I doing to exacerbate the turmoil? How can I be honest about things, yet still keep the peace?  

I step down from my judge’s seat. I take off my judge’s robe and choose to ask how might I become like Jesus and put my love and trust in the Father rather than bargaining with Satan for only a piece of bread (which, in the above example, would equate to the goal of simply winning the argument).

Bread, in this blog, represents anything one uses as a bargaining chip to get what one wants. It sustains the body for a moment. Yet, obedience to the Father moves one into the spiritual realm of eternity.

Father, you are the Great Judge and you never judge unfairly. Move me to be obedient to your will. Help me to put my trust in you and to love you with all my heart, soul and mind. Fill me with Jesus, the bread of life and sustainer of my soul. Teach me better ways to clothe myself in humility and peace. In Jesus name, Amen.

Leave a comment