Aroma

It is a burnt offering, a food offering, an aroma pleasing to the Lord. Leviticus 1:9

Now we’re in the part of the Bible that talks about sacrifices. The people would bring their offerings (sheep, goats or young pigeons) to be accepted on their behalf as an atonement for them, an “aroma pleasing to the Lord.”

Noah (in Genesis 8:21) was the first to please God with his burnt offering aroma.

I am fascinated by this phrase (used many more times throughout the Bible), and I wanted to know more.

What aroma? The smell of the meat of the animals cooking on the altar? What’s going on?

No way, the burnt offerings must have had a horrible stench. To think of all those animal sacrifices and the atmosphere of the place boggles my mind.

No, God was smelling the aroma of changing hearts, hearts that were human and sinful, now worshipping Him! It’s a picture of men relinquishing wicked ways and yielding their lives to the Father.

We give to you our all, Lord.”

How refreshing this must have been to the Lord when sincere hearts presented themselves to Him in such a way. How He must have rejoiced at the passion for Him at the center of their being.

Of course, Jesus became THE once-and-for-all, the final sacrifice when He died on the cross, and animal sacrifices were no longer necessary. His offering of Himself was for a sweet-smelling savor to God. (Ephesians 5:2)

As followers of Christ, we lay our own lives down daily as a living sacrifice holy and pleasing to God (Romans 12:1). And all throughout the New Testament we are called a “fragrance of Christ to God, “ as seen in II Corinthians 2:15-16 and many other such verses.

The aroma we give off is the humble, surrendering attitude of our hearts. It is an experience of satisfaction by God. He is soothed and pleased!

I’m discovering that the more I am this sweet aroma to God, I am also so very pleased within myself. I am soothed as well when I’m following His sacred will.

Lord, may the sacrifice of my life bring you rest and peace. Sometimes, it hurts to be here on this earth. I give these burdens, so very heavy, to you. Make me strong and brave to go forward in the things you ask of me, holding nothing back. May my sacrifice be holy and pleasing to you. Thank you that Jesus paved the way for us to know the pleasure of your pleasure as you felt with Him. We want our lives to reflect the changed hearts you have called forth in us. In Jesus Name, Amen.

Leave a comment