Spreading Treasures

For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also. Matthew 6:21

The center of a life with our Lord God has always been about the heart.

We may give good deeds and hard work, but if our hearts are not into it, everything feels a little off. Life can become detached and numb. The heart must be connected, in some manner, to the ups and downs of one’s existence or life genuinely doesn’t feel worth living.

The problem is that numerous attractions call to the heart to totally override the greatest of the great of treasures: our awesome GOD.

Various passions of earth (money, popularity, control or pride – the desire to be seen as right or ‘better’) occupy our time, energy and attention.

Imaginations of our hearts come into play when we envision the troubles of tomorrow. Fears take over the mind. Negatives crowd in and swallow time itself.

With the heart’s imaginations, who has the free mental space to sit at the feet of Jesus?

Luke 10:38-42 says, As Jesus and his disciples were on their way, he came to a village where a woman named Martha opened her home to him. She had a sister called Mary, 
who sat at the Lord’s feet listening to what he said. But Martha was distracted by all the preparations that had to be made. She came to him and asked, “Lord, don’t you care that my sister has left me to do the work by myself? Tell her to help me!”

“Martha, Martha,” the Lord answered, “you are worried and upset about many things, but few things are needed—or indeed only one. Mary has chosen what is better, and it will not be taken away from her.”

Mary’s heart was focused on Jesus, not distracted by earthly struggles. Having a full schedule (being busy with work or with serving others) isn’t wrong and, in fact, is a necessary part of life. But when the soul gets carried away with destructive thoughts inside the tasks of the day, those thoughts

…become a person’s treasure.

What harm the mind consistently ponders takes up space and time. It zaps strength and energy, energy that could be used for good imaginings, energy that could be making space to listen to the voice of Jesus (even while chopping carrots or cleaning toilets or in the middle of difficult work days).

Perhaps, Martha thought too much of herself. After all she was ‘better’ than Mary because she was doing the grunt work. But she was also miserable as she held onto her precious treasures of self-centered blame of others and whiny accusations.

Indeed, Mary wasn’t helping and the work was difficult for just one person to handle. But, Martha’s thoughts captivated her instead of, by God’s help, taking her reasoning captive!

Jesus (sitting in the center of her own house!) was the farthest thought from her mind. She couldn’t see or hear Him. She was stuck. The absolute most beneficial sentiments on which to dwell were no where near Martha.

And Jesus said, “Mary has chosen what is better…”

It happens to you and me. We find ourselves weary, worried, desolate and all tied up in knots when our minds could be fixed in worship, honor and glory to God.

Might we, at times, be connected to our pain more than to our God? Is it possible to connect wholeheartedly to the Most Holy One without being in denial of our pain? Job found a way. He worshipped, even in the worst of circumstances.

Spending our thoughts on asking God to help us in our trials or problems and trusting Him for the results is good. We can memorize scripture and quote it back to God. We can sing, pray and speak to others around us about His goodness, even in our trials.

Do not worry about your life…Matthew 6:25

But seek first his kingdom and his righteousness Matthew 6:33

There are days in which I struggle with hardships. What time is spent in the struggle is impossible to measure, because I become so engrossed in it, I get lost.

But then a moment in time awakens my heart to the deepest treasures, the heavenly treasures for what my soul truly seeks.

Lord,” I say, “What is the worse that can happen in this situation? God, I desire to spend this time with you and not in derailing, distracting bitterness or fear. I believe you will give me what it takes to handle these matters with strength and graciousness. I am worn out. But you are God. You are with me. You will never leave me. I let go of having to have my time filled with what will give ME comfort. You know better. You know the transformation that trials must work in me. You know if I need to openly address conflicts or stay quiet in your presence. And you know the treasures inside the hearts of those around me. I let go of being in charge of other’s responses. Let me exhibit to the world a pure heart full of the treasure of praising and honoring you. Give me the treasure of faith to climb the mountains, so steep. Give me the treasure of joy in the middle of disorder and the unsolvable perplexities of life. Let my heart spread your treasures to the world and be stayed on you. In Jesus name, Amen.

Leave a comment