Certain

This is the testimony: God has given us eternal life, and this life is in his Son. Whoever has the Son has life; whoever does not have the Son of God does not have life. I John 5:11-12

Our human beliefs are interesting to examine. Those of us who believe in God and His church, base their certainties on the testimony of God Himself. Those who do not, tend to question those who do. But, they use a testimony to define their life without God, not realizing the uncertainties of their own notions.

As Christians, we have clarity concerning the fact that we are sinners in need of a Savior. We have experienced God’s loving forgiveness and tender mercies. We have felt His compassion and love during our darkest days. We have put our trust and faith in Him and have been filled with His goodness.

Today’s verse makes a very simple statement: Whoever has the Son has life; whoever does not have the Son of God does not have life.

Everything in Christianity points to God’s son. All of our beliefs hinge on the truth of His life, death and resurrection. He is the reason we can come to the Father.

When I imagine my response to this extraordinary gift that Jesus gave through Himself to the world, I cannot help but fall to my knees in thanksgiving and hope. I want to be in every moment with Him.

Sometimes, I complain about people who disappoint me with their lack of presence. I say things like, “They’re with me but their minds are miles away.” “They’re present but they’re really not engaged.” I can see the glazing over of their eyes in the middle of a conversation.

Yet, how many times have I done this very same thing with God. I come to Him in prayer or memorize a Bible verse, but my mind is really far away. My lips are speaking the right words of worship and honor, but I’m not really there.

Lord, help me to quiet myself in you and be in your presence as you long to be present with me. I am so thankful for your son who gives me life with you, not for only a single moment in time, but over and over again. I love that I have the son, and therefore I have the certainty of life, now and eternally. Help me to never take that for granted. In Jesus name, Amen.

Leave a comment