I Am With You

Do not be afraid, for I am with you. Genesis 26:24

A few weeks ago, I shared what God said earlier in Genesis, “Do not be afraid, Abram. I am your shield, your very great reward.”

In today’s verse, God is speaking to Abraham’s son, Isaac (Abraham has passed away). “Do not be afraid, for I am with you.” God renewed the promises he had already given to Isaac’s father about blessing him and increasing the number of his descendants. Isaac then built an altar in this place called Beersheba.

We may conjecture that Isaac had previously met with fear and loneliness on his travel journeys. However, the story tells us that he did meet with much strife with the people of the land. And now, at the time he needed it most, God soothed his soul with such beautiful words.

…for I am with you…

Maybe things don’t always turn out the way we think they should, and life can let us down. But to have our God behind us, with us and going before us is comforting. The peace we have through God during our greatest times of need means more than having anything the world gives us.

Isaac built an altar after God appeared and spoke to him (vs. 25). He “called on the name of the Lord.”

I like to think about altars. They are places of worship, surrender and gratefulness to our God. Isaac’s father knew about altars. Grown up Isaac, now, communed with God the Father who cared for and loved him deeply.

If I could build an altar today, what would I sacrifice?

What about my precious moments and my best energy? When I give up something important to me, something for which I’ve worked hard and something into which I’ve poured myself, I will not want to let it go. But releasing these treasures to God (who owns all of me and my time to begin with) is my greatest act of worship. I am putting my trust and faith in God.

Isaac built his altar after God told him not to be afraid and that he would be with him. He has told us the same thing all throughout His word, and that is a promise.

Lord, wherever I go, go with me. And remind me to keep your word in my heart no matter the circumstance. Comfort me in my fears. In my mind, I build an altar and lay down my greatest treasures and thank you for your provision. I believe that you are with me always. In Jesus name, Amen.

One thought on “I Am With You

Leave a comment