Undivided

I will give them an undivided heart and put a new spirit in them. Ezekiel 11:9

In the beginning, man and woman walked with God in sweet harmony. Their hearts were connected, whole…complete. Their communion with the Father was perfect.

Sin entered and caused division between God and His children. A gulf so wide and expansive became a horrible gap. Imagine how lost they felt and how grieved was their Father!

Years passed and the tabernacle of Moses entered. It was God’s way to be near His people. It was just a peek at what was coming, for man continued to lose his way in sin.

Then, God’s son entered. He became THE sacrifice of all times to bridge the gap between man and God.

Jesus, the One who never strayed from God in disconnected, fragmented disobedience (like we did and still do), paved the way for us to be able to come boldly to God’s throne of grace.

All through the history of the Bible, God and His people sought an undivided heart:

*Teach me your way, LORD, that I may rely on your faithfulness; give me an undivided heart, that I may fear your name. Psalm 86:11
*Blessed are those who keep his testimonies, who seek him with their whole heart. Psalm 119:2
*But you are not like my servant David, who kept my commandments and followed me wholeheartedly by doing only what I approve. I Kings 14:8
*I will give them the desire to acknowledge that I am the Lord. I will be their God and they will be my people. For they will wholeheartedly return to me. Jer. 24:7
*But seek first the kingdom of God and his righteousness, and all these things will be added to you. Matt. 6:33
*You shall love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind. Matt. 22:37
*Whatever you do, work at it wholeheartedly as though you were doing it for the Lord and not merely for people. Col. 3:23

How would I define an undivided heart?

*Following God’s ways (testimonies, commandments) with our whole heart.
*Acknowledging that He is Lord and returning to Him after we stray.
*Seeking God and His kingdom first before anything else in our lives.
*Loving Him and doing our tasks with all we have and all we are.

Another way to be undivided before God is to be united with His children. When we seek harmony instead of contention, we are seeking an undivided heart. This includes church members, our neighborhoods, friends, our families and our marriages. It even includes people we simply don’t like but with whom we have to work together: office peers and those we worship with who rub us the wrong way.

Father, you are the only one who can bring us together in harmony and communion with you and your people. We get so full of pride and then fight our way to our own agendas. Please give us new hearts and new eyes to see what love can do and what humility can accomplish. We come to you with undivided spirits, wanting so much to connect with you every moment of our days. In Jesus name, Amen.

Leave a comment