Thrive: Light as a Feather

Stone is heavy and sand a burden, but a fool’s provocation is heavier than both. Proverbs 27:3

For the previous weeks, we’ve looked at being IN the moment of each day, and living for the Lord God. In so doing, we bring praise to His name and not to ourselves.

Today’s verse takes us into dishonorable and undisciplined emotions, which weighs heavily upon us and those who experience our tirades.

In Numbers 20:12, the children of Israel grumbled for water. God instructed Moses to speak to the rock and abundant water would flow out. But Moses was hot with anger at the Israelites, and instead, he lost control and struck the rock. His anger cost him his chance to go into the land flowing with milk and honey.  God said, “Because you did not trust me enough to honor me as holy in the sight of the Israelites, you will not bring this community into the land I give them.”

In Numbers 22, Balaam was on a journey with those who wanted him to curse the Israelites. Of course, God said, no. But Balaam began to travel with them. An angel blocked the path and the donkey could not pass. Thinking the donkey was being belligerent, Balaam beat the animal and tried to move him forward. Yet, he did not move. Finally, the donkey spoke to his master; “Why are you beating me?

Oddly enough, Balaam didn’t seem puzzled by the fact that his donkey was speaking. It is even more odd that Balaam responded to the animal!

The Lord opened Balaam’s eyes, and all became clear: an angel was blocking the way.

I wonder how many times we lose it over something in which God is working behind the scenes. We spend our passions on some ‘great’ ideas and plans, but the Father keeps attempting to move us to better things or to save us from our stupidity.

As I mulled over today’s proverb, it occurred to me that ANY out-of-control negative emotion is detrimental. When I realize that the harmful thoughts are not going away and I’m not doing anything to stop them, I have crossed a line from good to bad.

Proverbs 27:3 warns that the victim of another person’s anger receives a heavier burden than an impossible heavy weight.

In my early marriage and with a houseful of kids, sadly, I was angry most of my waking days. To this day, I remember my husband’s face when I would explode. My emotions and how I dealt with them were a massive burden to him, not a bright blessing that I learned to become as the years went by.

Beware of uncontrollable passions that have more affect on others than you think. Children are watching. They actually learn from watching us (good things and bad). Everyone around us is watching and everyone feels the burden when we are unrestrained.

Last week, I carried a pile of heavy carpet up the stairs and almost lost my grip. I was huffing and puffing (and I’m in pretty good shape). It was unbearably hard! The rugs were too big for me to carry.

When we do not govern our emotions, a weighted item feels like a feather compared to our cruel, unreasonable and excessive responses. Nothing compares to the tongue-lashing of our foolish words. It is a sign that we don’t care about what we do or say.

We can tell a lot about ourselves by how we express our emotions during moments of tension. Sometimes, it shows a lack of trust in the Almighty God. Typically, once the venting has begun, it spreads its tentacles all over the place.

What we do and how we do it can be an oppressive burden to others. The time has come to slow down, take a good look at our hearts and ask what can be done to refuse the avalanche of volatile reactions.

Lord, help us to learn contentment, compassion, grace, patience, charity, gentleness and forgiveness. I pray for our hearts, actions and words to be as light as a feather, a blessed gift, not a troublesome burden. Show us the hurt we cause others and help us to make amends. None of us wants to dishonor your name, but we want to trust in your provision, even in our emotional state of mind. Teach us how to relay our feelings in brighter, healthier ways. That is such a gift to those around us. Lead us daily in this noble quest. In Jesus name, Amen.

Leave a comment