Flowing Fountains of Good

Above all else, guard your heart, for everything you do flows from it. Proverbs 4:23

Guard my heart…above ALL else?

Why is attending to the center of my heart of such importance?

There are so many things going on inside my heart and mind. At times, I’m not even always aware. Going to that place of pursuing what’s in there is a great learning skill. Sitting through a few moments every day to know my heart helps me ascertain what changes I need to make in my life with aid from the Lord.

It is helpful to use the senses God gave me: seeing, hearing, smelling, touching, tasting and letting them tell me what is going on deep in my soul.

Am I tense or fearful? Am I stressed, hungry or moody? Am I anticipating good things today or dreading my work? WHAT is driving me?

The verse says to guard my heart above everything else. When this one thing isn’t prioritized, the other choices of my life tend to end poorly.

How am I to guard my heart? I must watch carefully what I allow into my spirit. I must carefully follow the instructions of my Father in heaven by reading His word daily. I meditate on its meaning and its application for my life. The Bible makes such a difference in everything I do. I let it envelop and saturate my mind so that when trials come, when the day of evil comes into my life, I can stand my ground and my heart can have good and wise responses.

I guard my heart by speaking the truth in love plainly to those around me the words I am called to speak instead of letting bitterness or resentment take me over. It is my responsibility to do that.

What am I guarding my heart from? How about greed, pride (being pompous and arrogant), anger and attacks of the enemies of God?

Lord, apparently what I DO is birthed from what I think. Help my thoughts to dwell constantly on you and your work in me. Help me to be like your Son, Jesus. I want my actions and love to come from a heart overflowing with your grace, mercy and peace. Today and forever, move my heart to belong completely to you. I give my life to you. In Jesus name, Amen.

Leave a comment