How Can I Believe in a God Who…

Pr 3:7-8 Do not be wise in your own eyes; fear the LORD and shun evil. This will bring health to your body and nourishment to your bones.

This week, I experienced a morning in which I felt I was walking on Holy Ground. God delivered me from some trials in such a way that I was left standing amazed. A common statement came to my mind about bad things that occur in our lives. “How can I believe in a God who would allow me to suffer?”

I’m not here to minimize such feelings, but to express how I feel when God does something mind-blowingly good. My thoughts spoke in awe and wonder, “How in the world does God do such good for someone like ME?” “How am I NOT worthy of suffering, instead?”

All week, I’ve meditated on Prov. 3:7-8.

When the unbelievable miracles happen to me (and God is ALWAYS doing something good in all our lives), I desire for my reaction to be one of humility, not arrogance that this is owed to me somehow or that I deserve it.

How I see myself from my own prideful eyes is something I want to learn to refuse.

I must continue to be humble, even when things don’t go my way or I don’t get what I asked for, for I am not God. I don’t know what He knows. I don’t know my future. I must trust him more than I do myself.

Pride goes before so many more sins. Pride is just the beginning of my fall.

Lord, help me not to think of myself as so wise that I’m not willing to listen to others. Help me to be in constant rapport with you to hear your wisdom and the wise advice from others you have put in my life. As I mentor, I’m in a constant state of “I don’t know what to do about this situation or problem.” But you, Father, always pull through and give me what I need to help others. That is not ME. It is all you! May my prayers not be so presumptuous that I act as if I know what is best. Help me to understand the consequences that come when I am wise in my own eyes: ill-health, regret, worry and anger. I love that you have a plan for me to be healthy and strong in my spirit. Keep me from arrogant ways. In Jesus name, Amen.

Leave a comment